creating an active family in a sedentary world

Diet schmiet

Last week I got my mileage back up to 20 for the week. I’d slipped down closer to 10 per week for the past several weeks, which is shameful considering this time last year I was up to 45.

Thursday night in my cycling class I had a new participant, an intense slightly older man wearing a marathon tech shirt and ironman biking shorts. He looked like a legit ironman. I found myself wishing I’d planned a harder workout for my class so I could give him an ironman-worthy workout. Then I got to thinking, “could I intimidate my class by showing up in ironman gear?” His gear made me want to push harder. Could I actually inspire my class by making a habit out of wearing my race shirts? Hmmm.

Intro Friday, my glorious rest day. On top of 20 miles of running, I had to teach 3 spinning classes and attended 3 boot camp classes (Tough Mudder prep). Oh yeah plus care for my 6, 4 & 2 year olds and work part time. I just started this “exercise routine on steriods” last week & by Friday I am exhausted. I caught myself telling my husband I’d better have an amazing beach bod for our vacation next month WHILE I was eating rainbow chip icing out of the jar. Fitness fail.

20130615-164546.jpg
So delicious.

Today I decided to break from my monotonous routine and run somewhere I’ve never run before. I am a creature of habit and have been boringly running alone through my town for the past 2 years. Today I fell in love with running again! The park had a great 3 mile trail (so 6 miles out & back), tons of covered bridges,

20130615-164800.jpg
And followed an adorable little creek. I got in 8.01 miles in an easy 1:13. Nice.

At only 20 minutes drive from home, it’s semi-convenient so I will be visiting it a few times a month I hope. I really enjoyed actually seeing other runners (which never happens on my regular runs) – I like to say hello loudly to every single person I pass. I’m just social that way I guess.

20130615-165003.jpg
I also got to try out my new ProCompression socks & much to my surprise I *loved* them and I’m gonna order another pair by Monday (using the 40% off discount code “DAD”). Without a discount they’re kinda pricey (in my opinion) but I can almost rationalize them after the discount and free shipping.

20130615-165215.jpg

What running gear have you splurged on and now can’t live without?

Leave a comment